1 2 3

Get In:


Citizens of India do not need a visa to enter Nepal - they may enter using a passport, photo drivers licence or governmental/ration/voter ID card and may stay and work indefinitely.

Tourist visas are available on arrival for citizens of all other countries (except Afghanistan, Cameroon, Ethiopia, Ghana, Iraq, Nigeria, Palestine, Somalia, Swaziland, Syria and Zimbabwe) at the designated land borders for USD25, for 15 days, USD40 for 30 days and USD100 for 90 days. They can only be granted for a maximum of 150 days in each 12 month period.

As well as US dollars, other convertible currencies like the euro, Pound sterling and Australian dollars can also be used but some smaller entry points may not accept them.

How to extend your visa (as of May 2016): To extend your tourist visa, visit the Nepal Immigration Department in Kathmandu with your passport and another photo (photo not needed for tourist visa extension), and pay US $2 for every day past your visa you want to stay, up to the maximum of 150 days per year. They require to submit electronic application form in advance, but it can be done in special kiosk in the office. Minimum visa extension period is 15 days for tourist visas (thus it costs 30 USD or equivalent in rupees). However, if you already missed your visa expiration date, 20 USD of additional charge may apply. For tourist visa photo is not needed, just go to electronic application kiosk inside the Immigration Department, where nice Nepali will fill the form for you and take a visa photo for free. Then proceed to the visa application counter, pay the money and wait for like one hour and they will call your name. You can ask travel agency in Thamel to do it for you, but they will charge like 25 USD for this service .

Points of entry or exit:

The points of entry and exit for tourists:

  1. Tribhuvan International Airport, Kathmandu
  2. Kakarvitta, Jhapa (Eastern Nepal)
  3. Birgunj, Parsa (Central Nepal)
  4. Kodari, Sindhupalchowk (Northern Border)
  5. Belahia, Bhairahawa (Rupandehi, Western Nepal)
  6. Jamunaha, Nepalgunj (Banke, Mid Western Nepal)
  7. Mohana, Dhangadhi (Kailali, Far Western Nepal)
  8. Gadda Chauki, Mahendranagar (Kanchanpur, Far Western Nepal)
1 2 3